Sicilia 2013

Image

Last summer I spent some time in Sicily visiting my family. I think that Sicily is one of the most amazing parts of Italy (if not even Europe!) regarding food, people and culture. Pasta, fresh fish, meat, fruit & vegetables- you name it, I’ve had it all. As usual I’ve been stuffed with the most amazing food by my family – worth every bite! Before heading to Palermo I’ve spent two weeks at the surf school of my aunt and uncle called Reef.ImageImage

Since I was living directly on the beach we were usually hanging out in our bikini until late at night. Some days we went fishing around sunset- on the first day I got a pretty big catch (which we than grilled). Next to enjoying the sun and fishing I also tried some water sports like stand up paddling, wind surf, kite surf, catamaran and water skiing. Once there was a really big storm and all the experts ran out like crazy into it to catch the best wave..I rather preferred to stay on the shore and take some shots of my cousin doing crazy backflips on his wind surf. I really hope to improve my skills in surfing next summer!

ImageImage

ImageImage

I left the beach life after about two weeks which were completely marvelous! Picture waking up every morning, just 50m from the shore,  hearing the waves..getting up with the only thought of which bikini would be dry and ready to wear…reading a book at sun set on a hanging mattress…having dinner under the stars and sitting by a beach fire at 2am in the morning..Really miss those good times with my cousins, aunt and uncle!

So after the beach I headed downtown Palermo and spent a couple of days there with my other cousins. I also did some day trips on a friend’s boat where we had really amazing fresh seafood.

ImageImageImageImage

A big thank you to all the lovely people who hosted me and made my holiday so perfect. I hope that I’ll be able to visit again soon!

Leave a Reply

